Some New Jersey traffic violations only come with fines. Others have penalties on top of that like surcharges, points, license suspensions, and jail time. It is all governed by the New Jersey Traffic Code but in some cases, a traffic ticket lawyer may be able to have the fines and penalties reduced or eliminated. What are the most common traffic violations in NJ?
Common Traffic Violations: Minor Infractions and Speeding
Some of the more common traffic violations that you can be fined for are driving with an expired license and driving/parking an unregistered motor vehicle. These fines are $54. Other minor violations that have similar fines focus on things like improperly installed headlights, noisy mufflers, and not wearing a seat belt. The fines for not carrying insurance coverage are steeper, ranging from $300 to $1000.
Speeding violations are much more serious and fines/penalties depend on how fast the person was going and any past infractions. Those who receive citations also get points on their licenses. This often leads to insurance surcharges and premium increases. Here is a list of the fines and points:
- One to nine mph over the speed limit: $85/two points
- 10 to 14 mph over the speed limit: $95/two points
- 15 to 19 mph over the speed limit: $105/four points
- 20 to 29 mph over the speed limit: $200/four points
- 30 to 34 mph over the speed limit: $240/five points
- 35 to 39 mph over the speed limit: $269/five points
Drivers who are cited for driving even faster often have their licenses suspended and depending on their driving histories, could end up in jail.
What Are Some of the Other Common Traffic Violations in New Jersey?
These fines also vary, and below are some that are seen more often:
- Failing to pass on the left side: $85/4 points
- Failing to yield the right of way at an intersection: $85/2 points
- Improper right- and left-hand turns: $85/3 points
- Tailgating: $50 to $200/5 points
- Failing to stop at a red light: $50 to $200/2 points
- Leaving the scene of an accident when another vehicle was damaged: $200-$400/2 points (if there are no injuries)
These fines and penalties can be higher for subsequent offenses. This also holds true for DUI (driving under the influence) violations. The penalties also go up depending on the driver’s BAC (blood alcohol content):
- First DUI offense, BAC from 0.08 to 0.10 percent: $250-$500
- First DUI offense, BAC 0.10 percent or higher: $300-$500
- First DUI offense within 1,000 feet of school property: $500-$800
New Jersey does not assign points for these violations but there are other, more severe repercussions. These include insurance surcharges ranging from $3,000 to $4,500, higher insurance premiums, and license suspensions. Those caught driving under the influence can also face jail time and when that happens, they can lose their jobs and be unable to find new employment once they are released from jail.
Contact the NJ Traffic Ticket Lawyers at Ellis Law, P.C. For a Free Traffic Ticket Consultation
If you have received a traffic ticket and need legal help, look no further than the skilled NJ traffic ticket lawyers at Ellis Law, P.C. We will review your case and may be able to help you fight it in court. Complete our online form or call our Freehold, New Jersey office at 732-702-6103. Our service area includes Freehold, Asbury Park, East Brunswick, Toms River, Middletown, Jersey City, Long Branch, Neptune, Hudson County, Union County, Essex County, Monmouth County, Marlboro, and Ocean County, as well as Brooklyn and New York City.