In New Jersey, speeding tickets are as common as rain in Seattle. One reason speeding tickets are given out often in New Jersey is to slow down all of the aggressive drivers in the state. The other reason is because speeding tickets generate a lot of revenue for the local municipalities.
If you got a speeding ticket while driving in New Jersey, call our team of speeding ticket lawyers today at 732-308-0200, and get a free consultation for your case.
Penalties and Fines for Speeding Tickets in New Jersey
A speeding ticket of 1 to 14 miles over the limit is a 2 point offense. A speeding ticket of 15 to 29 is a 4-point offense. A speeding ticket of 30 or more over the limit is a 5-point offense.
In New Jersey, some road areas are designated as Safe Corridors. Safe corridors are road sections that have had high accident and fatality rates in the past. Because these roads have a record of being dangerous, the state hopes to reduce speeding along them. In areas that are designated as a ‘Safe Corridor’ or a ‘Safe Corridor Area’ the fines are doubled. The fines are as follows:
- Speeding by 1-9 mph over the limit: $140
- Speeding 10-14 mph: $160
- Speeding by 15-19 mph: $180
The state also doubles fines if you are caught speeding by 10 mph or more in a 65 mph zone.
How to Beat a Speeding Ticket in New Jersey
In New Jersey, there are several ways you can beat a speeding ticket.
If the police officer’s paperwork was sloppily prepared, you can get away with not having to pay for the ticket. If the police officer’s training certifications have lapsed, you can also get away with not having to pay. Sometimes the officer’s radar or laser machines have malfunctioned, or have not been tested properly, which also means you got off scot-free.
A pace ticket can easily be beaten for New Jersey residents. Pace tickets are given out by cops who follow drivers and make an estimate on how fast they were going. Since this estimate requires more of a judgment call instead of a scientific analysis of a radar or laser reading, the driver can argue in court that this was an unreasonable ticket.
To fight your traffic ticket, you must plead not guilty in court. Depending on your violation, you may already have to appear in court, but if not, you’ll need to schedule a hearing.
If you get a speeding ticket, you do not necessarily have to go to court. Only higher violations result in a mandatory court date. You will be required to attend court if you are caught speeding by 40 mph or more, or if you are speeding by 20 mph or more in a Safe Corridor or Construction Zone. Otherwise, you only need to go to court if you wish to challenge the ticket.
Call a Speeding Ticket Lawyer Near You
If you received a speeding ticket, we are here to help. At Ellis Law, we have almost thirty years of winning cases for clients who have received speeding tickets. Herbert Ellis and his team of professional attorneys will oversee the preparation and filing of all pleadings and other documents to get you the best outcome possible in court.
Call our team of speeding ticket lawyers today at 732-308-0200.