In New Jersey, failing to stop for a school bus can cost you a $100 fine and lead to 15 days of imprisonment, and suspension of your drivers license in the discretion of the Direction of the Division of Motor Vehicles under NJSA 39:4-128.1
The law in New Jersey states that you must stop for any school bus displaying its yellow or red lights. Failure to stop immediately will lead to the penalties listed above.
In addition to the above penalties, the Motor Vehicle Commission will give you 5 points on your license for passing a school bus. This means your insurance may increase dramatically for the next three years.
If you’ve passed a school bus and don’t know who to turn to, our team of experienced traffic attorneys is here to help you. Call us today at 732-308-0200, and we’ll provide you with a free consultation on all the details of your case.
How to Avoid a Violation
If you’d like to avoid a violation in the first place, here are a few tips to keep in mind:
- Stop at least 25 feet away from a school bus with its warning lights on.
- Remain stopped until all children are on the bus or have reached the side of the road.
- Slow down to 10 miles per hour if traveling in the opposite direction of a stopped bus on a road with a safety island or median.
- Proceed under 10 miles per hour after the bus has begun moving.
Call a Traffic Lawyer Near You
At Ellis Law, we have been dedicated to our clients for nearly thirty years. We’ve helped various clients who received tickets for school bus violations, making convincing argument to the judges to get our clients’ cases removed from court. Our office is all about results, and we will fight relentlessly for you to make sure that your case is won. At the end of the long fight, you will feel relieved that you went with Herbert Ellis. Call us now at 732-308-0200.