In New Jersey, there are two separate statutes for reckless driving and careless driving. Under NJSA 39:4-96, reckless driving is defined as “driving a vehicle heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property.”
Reckless driving has much harsher penalties than careless driving. The main difference between the two is intent. Careless driving is defined as driving ‘without due caution and circumspection,’ whereas reckless driving is defined as driving ‘in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others.’
If you’ve been given a ticket for reckless driving, contact our team of traffic lawyers today at 732-308-0200.
Penalties for Reckless Driving
Anyone who is caught on a reckless driving charge in New Jersey can be imprisoned for up to 60 days in county or municipal jail and/or fined between $50 and $200. In addition to fines and potential jail time, anyone who is convicted of reckless driving will have five points added to his New Jersey driving record. These points don’t expire, so a number of offenses can add up to a larger penalty. Three points will be deducted from your total for each year you go without a driving violation or a license suspension.
Call a Traffic Attorney Near You
If you’ve been given a ticket for reckless driving and are scared of facing potential jail time, our traffic attorneys are here for you. We have almost thirty years of experience in defending drivers who have been arrested for reckless driving. Our duty as a staff of legal professionals is to get you the best outcome possible in court—which means taking points off your record, getting rid of any fees you might owe the state, and turning any potential jail time into a fantasy. Our New Jersey traffic lawyers are effective, and are all about results, results, results. Call our team today at 732-308-0200.