Get a Traffic Ticket for Texting While Driving in New Jersey
Google Screened

Can You Get a Traffic Ticket for Texting While Driving in New Jersey?

December 12, 2023
Contact a New Jersey Ticket Lawyer at Ellis Law, P.C. for Help With Your Ticket

Most people are well aware that texting and driving is dangerous, yet 25 percent of all accidents are caused by drivers using cell phones. For so many, texting and driving is a bad habit they practice without considering the possible harm to themselves and others. Besides causing an accident, can you get a traffic ticket for texting while driving?

Texting and driving regulations vary by state. In New Jersey, specific laws apply to handheld electronic devices like cell phones, so it is essential to be aware of them.

Manual cell phone use while driving, including texting, emailing, being on phone calls, and using the internet, is banned in the Garden State.

New Jersey drivers are permitted to use hands-free devices while driving, using Bluetooth or talk-to-text technology, as long as it does not interfere with any safety equipment. However, the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission discourages hands-free cell phones because they are still distracting for drivers.

Are There Fines and Penalties for Texting and Driving in New Jersey?

If you receive a ticket for texting and driving, the fine amount depends on how many times you broke the law for this offense; subsequent offenders face harsher consequences.

  • First offense: $200 minimum
  • Second offense: $400 minimum
  • Third offense: $600 minimum, three motor vehicle penalty points, and a potential 90-day driver’s license suspension

Younger, school bus and commercial drivers may be subject to stricter fines and penalties. A distracted driving violation can also increase your insurance rates and lead to reckless driving charges. If texting and driving causes a serious accident or fatality, there could be more serious criminal charges.

Contact a New Jersey Ticket Lawyer at Ellis Law, P.C. for Help With Your Ticket

It is not against the law to use a cell phone hands-free while driving in New Jersey, but using one manually is illegal. If you need legal guidance for a traffic ticket, do not hesitate to contact an experienced New Jersey ticket lawyer at Ellis Law, P.C. Call 732-702-6103 or complete our online form to schedule a free consultation. Located in Freehold, New Jersey, we serve clients in Asbury Park, East Brunswick, Toms River, Middletown, Jersey City, Long Branch, Neptune, Hudson County, Union County, Essex County, Monmouth County, Marlboro, and Ocean County, as well as Brooklyn and New York City.

Call Now for a Free Consultation 732-308-0200


Ellis Law Center 87 South Street

Freehold, NJ 07728

Phone: 732-308-0200

Fax: 732-577-0100

Map and Directions

East Brunswick

Turnpike Plaza, 197 Route 18

East Brunswick, NJ 08816

Phone: 732-254-3355

Fax: 732-577-0100

Map and Directions

Toms River

1861 Hooper Avenue

Toms River, NJ 08753

Phone: 732-741-1616

Fax: 732-577-0100

Map and Directions